Each record describes something a country built that the indicators do not capture. The source provides the published number; the mechanism is our interpretation.
Scores describe outcomes. These records describe how a country acted, what it needed and what happened. 863 of 863 records include a mechanism. They do not affect scores.
The United Kingdom's 2008 Climate Change Act made five-year emissions budgets a standing legal cycle set twelve years ahead, and by July 2026 seven budgets covered 2008 through 2042 while the first three had been met.
Parliament requires each government to set a quantified five-year ceiling twelve years in advance, receive independent advice, publish a delivery plan and report the final account, converting a distant target into a recurring decision and scrutiny cycle.
Preconditions
A national emissions inventory stable enough to support legal accounting
An independent body with the standing and expertise to challenge government plans
A legislature willing to bind successive governments to decisions beyond one term
Where else it has been used: France and several other countries later adopted carbon-budget frameworks. What travels is the rolling statutory cycle; a target without independent advice, advance budgets and final accounts keeps the name but drops the institutional work.
Limits: A statutory cycle and three budgets met show continuity and compliance with a national accounting framework, not that the framework caused the emissions reductions or that budgets four to seven will be delivered. Territorial accounts omit emissions embodied in imports, and government reports its own compliance even though an independent Climate Change Committee advises and scrutinises it.
UKRI reported more than 1,000 Knowledge Transfer Partnerships running at one time and more than 1,100 Associate projects in May 2026, joining businesses with universities or other research organisations through jointly supervised innovation work.
Innovate UK funds a three-way arrangement in which a business names a strategic problem, a university or research organisation supplies expertise and a graduate associate works inside the firm under joint supervision. The structure gives firms absorptive capacity while giving academic knowledge a route into operations.
Preconditions
Research organisations with staff who can translate academic methods into business projects
Firms willing to co-fund a 12โ36 month project and give the associate a real strategic problem
A national intermediary that matches partners, sets quality rules and carries lessons between projects
Where else it has been used: Knowledge-transfer partnerships travel when the intermediary funds the bridge and the firm owns a concrete problem; generic networking events rarely create the same embedded learning or accountability.
Limits: The partnership and project counts show programme scale, not whether collaborations produce durable productivity, patents, spinouts or jobs. UKRI reports the programme's administrative totals and benefit estimates; participation is not a representative sample of all UK firms or universities, and the figures do not provide a counterfactual against which the programme's effects can be judged.
HM Treasury's Private Finance Initiative signed on average 55 contracts a year between 1997 and 2010 and left 704 current PFI and PF2 projects with a capital value of ยฃ57 billion at 31 March 2018, after signings fell to an average of nine a year after May 2010 and the Chancellor announced at Budget 2018 that the government would no longer use PF2 for new projects.
HM Treasury let departments and local bodies buy hospitals, schools, roads and prisons as long design-build-finance-operate contracts paid by performance-linked unitary charges, keeping the capital cost off the up-front budget; after value-for-money criticism it reformed the model as PF2 in 2012 and then stopped using it for new central-government projects in 2018.
Preconditions
A deep domestic market of contractors, lenders and advisers able to price 25 to 30 year availability contracts.
Fiscal rules that rewarded keeping capital spending off the public balance sheet, which made the model attractive before it made it suspect.
A central unit (Partnerships UK, later the Infrastructure and Projects Authority) to standardise contracts and collect portfolio data.
Where else it has been used: The PFI model was copied widely, including by Canada and Japan; the UK case is the clearest example of an originating country closing the route for new projects while carrying the legacy portfolio for decades.
Limits: This is a dismantling by decision of the procurement route, not of the assets: the 704 contracts keep running, with ยฃ188.35 billion of forecast unitary charges over the next 30 years, so the record shows a national collaboration model closed to new deals rather than a lost stock of hospitals and schools. The decline started well before abolition (an average of 55 signings a year from 1997 to 2010 against nine a year after May 2010), and PF2, introduced in 2012 'in response to widespread concerns about value for money', was used only six times. A hostile reviewer would say PFI is evidence of joint delivery at scale and of poor value for money at once: the scale figure says nothing about whether the risk transfer paid off, and the Carillion liquidation hit two PF2 projects. Coverage is departments and devolved administrations under standard PFI and PF2 terms only; other PPP forms such as NHS LIFT are excluded, and Scotland and Wales run their own models that the 2018 announcement did not affect. The 1992 start year is not stated in the document, whose earliest year is 1997. The figures are in a PDF: the 55-a-year and nine-a-year averages and the PF2 announcement on PDF page 5 (paragraphs 1.5 and 1.6), the 704 projects and ยฃ57 billion on PDF page 8 (paragraphs 2.2 and 2.3). The publication is HM Treasury reporting on its own programme.
Participation of adults aged 19 and over in government-funded further education and skills in England fell from a recent peak of nearly 3.3 million learners in 2012/13 to 1.6 million in 2020/21, and stood at 1,798,970 in 2024/25, according to the Department for Education.
The Department for Education funds colleges, local authorities and training providers through a national adult skills budget and later loans and apprenticeship levy funding, and counts every funded learner through a single administrative return. Real-terms cuts to the adult budget and the move of level 3 and above provision onto learner loans roughly halved adult participation within a decade.
Preconditions
A national network of further education colleges and adult community learning services funded by central government
A learner-level administrative record that every funded provider must return
A funding settlement that can be cut without legislation, which is what made the erosion possible
Limits: The peak is published only as rounded prose ('nearly 3.3 million learners in 2012/13'), so the second metric is a rounded figure and the fall to 1,798,970 (about 45 percent) is approximate. The department calls 2012/13 the 'most recent peak', which implies earlier years may have been higher; the record does not claim the series' all-time high. The release also warns that the 2024/25 introduction of the Adult Skills Fund and tailored learning breaks the long-running Education and Training time series, although it says total further education and skills volumes are unaffected. Participation counts learners on government-funded or loan-funded provision recorded on the Individualised Learner Record, so adults in employer-paid, private or university learning are outside it, and it is England only, not the United Kingdom. The total includes adult apprenticeships, whose own funding reforms moved volumes independently of the adult skills budget. A headcount cannot show course length or level, so some of the fall may reflect a change in the mix of courses rather than fewer adults learning. The rise to 1.8 million in 2022/23 and 2023/24 came mostly from Multiply and Skills Bootcamps, according to the release, and Multiply funding stopped in March 2025. The 1992 start date is the Further and Higher Education Act that created the funded further education sector; it is not stated at the source URL.
The United Kingdom's financial regulator built the first regulatory sandbox in 2016, and by the end of 2022 had accepted 168 firms and products to test with real customers under supervision.
The regulator wrote a bounded testing regime: a firm without full authorisation can trial a product on real customers for a fixed period, with disclosure requirements and an exit plan, while the regulator watches from inside.
Preconditions
A single conduct regulator with statutory room to waive its own rules
A fintech sector dense enough to fill cohorts
Political cover for a regulator explicitly helping firms it will later police
Where else it has been used: The sandbox is Britain's most copied regulatory export, and several dozen jurisdictions now run one. Most copies keep the name and drop the supervisory intensity that makes it work.
Limits: The count is the regulator reporting on its own programme, and acceptance is not success: the FCA does not publish how many tests led to authorisation, funding or a product that survived. One hundred and sixty-eight firms over seven years is small next to the sector, so the number evidences that the mechanism runs, not that it moves the industry.
The British Business Bank reported that government-owned British Patient Capital had committed ยฃ2.287 billion through 80 fund commitments, 10 co-investments and 18 Future Fund deals by 31 March 2024, with an underlying portfolio of 1,350 companies.
The UK used a public, long-horizon investment platform to anchor private funds, make selected co-investments and keep capital flowing into innovative companies that can be underserved by shorter-horizon finance. A fund-manager network spreads sourcing and specialist judgement beyond the state balance sheet.
Preconditions
A public investment institution with a mandate, capital and governance that can tolerate long time horizons
Private fund managers and co-investors able to select, price and support high-growth firms
A pipeline of investable companies and follow-on capital so an anchor commitment can compound rather than stand alone
Where else it has been used: Public venture catalysts travel when they crowd in capable private managers and preserve commercial decision-making; a state fund without deal flow, follow-on finance or disciplined governance can become a subsidy ledger rather than a capital market.
Limits: Commitments, assets and portfolio-company counts are administrative programme totals, not venture capital as a share of GDP, additionality, exits, jobs or causal economic impact. The portfolio includes third-party fund capital and co-investments, and the figures are reported by the government-owned delivery institution rather than independently evaluating what would have happened without it.
UK Research and Innovation's ICURe impact report says spinout companies from the programme secured ยฃ326 million in investment funding and created more than 1,400 jobs from 2014 onward, after research teams were trained and funded to test markets before deciding whether to spin out.
ICURe gives research teams funding, coaching and a disciplined market-discovery period in which they conduct more than 100 customer interviews before a university-backed go/no-go decision. Teams advised to spin out can then apply for follow-on funding, turning technology-transfer work into an investable proposition rather than treating a patent as a company.
Preconditions
Universities and research institutes with discoveries, translational staff and authority to support commercial routes
Researchers willing to test a problem with users and founders able to lead a company after the discovery phase
Follow-on grants, investors and technology-transfer offices that can carry a validated opportunity beyond the programme
Where else it has been used: Spinout pipelines travel when market discovery, founder formation and follow-on capital are designed as one chain; a grant or patent alone does not create the commercial capabilities and decisions needed for a durable firm.
Limits: The impact report's cumulative investment and job figures cover teams supported by ICURe and do not show the full spinout population, survival, profitability, quality of jobs, counterfactual or the programme's independent contribution. They are programme impact estimates, not a national spinout rate or a guarantee that every participating discovery should become a company.
The UK government set up the Vaccine Taskforce in April 2020, became the first country to authorise a COVID-19 vaccine and begin vaccination in December 2020, and by the end of October 2021 the NHS in England had given two doses to 85% of adults.
The government created a Vaccine Taskforce outside normal departmental lines, gave it fast-track approval and broad indemnities to sign advance contracts with several developers before any vaccine was proven, and had the NHS deliver doses mainly through GPs and community pharmacies.
Preconditions
A single national health service with a GP registry that could call people by priority group
Treasury willingness to fund at-risk purchases across several candidate vaccines
A domestic regulator able to authorise quickly and a domestic research base (Oxford) with a vaccine candidate
Limits: The figures cover England only, not the United Kingdom; health is devolved and Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland ran their own rollouts. The rollout responded to a shock already under way, so it shows capacity to recover, not preparation: the UK's pre-pandemic preparedness and 2020 death toll are outside this number. Uptake was uneven, at 64% among 18 to 24 year olds and 48% to 49% among some ethnic minority groups, and around 3.7 million adults were still unvaccinated at the end of January 2022. About 4.7 million doses were wasted, including 1.9 million AstraZeneca doses written off. The deaths averted figure in the same report is a UKHSA model estimate and is not used here. The data come from NHS England's own administrative reporting, analysed by the NAO.
๐ฌ๐งUnited Kingdomsince 2020delivered and closedbears on Institutional responsiveness
The UK's Coronavirus Job Retention Scheme, which started in March 2020, had 8.9 million jobs on furlough at its peak on 8 May 2020 and supported 11.7 million jobs from 1.3 million employers before it closed on 30 September 2021.
The Treasury designed a wage subsidy covering 80 percent of a furloughed employee's pay and HMRC paid it to employers through the PAYE Real Time Information payroll system it already ran, so a new programme reached millions of jobs within weeks.
Preconditions
A tax authority already receiving each employer's payroll in real time
Borrowing capacity to fund an open-ended subsidy
Willingness to accept fraud and deadweight in exchange for speed
Where else it has been used: Germany and France extended short-time work schemes that already existed in law; the UK built one from nothing on top of its payroll data, as Australia did with JobKeeper.
Limits: HMRC is reporting on a scheme it ran, from claims data, and the counts are jobs (employments), not people: one person furloughed from two jobs counts twice. The release dates the scheme's start as March 2020 and its daily series from 23 March 2020; the announcement date (20 March 2020) and the opening of the claims portal in April 2020 are not on this page, so the speed reading rests on the peak falling on 8 May 2020, about seven weeks after the series begins. The release says nothing about cost, deadweight (jobs that would have survived anyway) or fraud and error, which HMRC and the National Audit Office reported separately, and it cannot show whether furlough preserved jobs or delayed their loss: 1.16 million jobs were still on furlough when it closed. A new scheme built in weeks under extreme pressure says little about how fast British rules change in normal times.
England built a national network of early-childhood centres reaching 3,632 sites by August 2009, then closed or hollowed out a large part of it after funding was cut, with the official count at 3,123 by October 2017 and independent estimates near 1,000 closures.
3,123 centres, children's centres open, official count, 2017-10. 3,632 centres, children's centres open at the peak, 2009-08. The Sutton Trust, Stop Start report summary, retrieved 2026-08-27.
The move, and what it needed
Central government funded local one-stop centres for under-fives, ring-fenced the money, and targeted the most deprived areas first; when the ring-fence was removed in 2010, local authorities under cuts converted, merged or closed centres faster than any national decision was ever taken.
Preconditions
Local authorities able to deliver a nationally specified service
A ring-fenced grant, whose removal was also what let the network erode
Cross-departmental agreement that early childhood was infrastructure
Where else it has been used: The 2025 Best Start family hubs programme is the same state rebuilding a version of what it closed, fifteen years later, which is the strongest available evidence that the erosion was a loss.
Limits: A site count is the crudest measure of the service: many surviving centres kept the building and lost the staff, which is why the Sutton Trust's estimate of real closures is roughly double the official fall shown here. The count stops in 2017 and later parliamentary answers show further decline. The record shows the erosion of delivered infrastructure under budget cuts, not the effect on children; the IFS separately measured lasting health benefits from the programme at its peak, which is what makes the erosion a loss rather than housekeeping.
The Department for Transport and HS2 Ltd began building High Speed Two in 2020. The government cancelled everything beyond Birmingham in 2023. By May 2026 the London to Birmingham railway alone was estimated at ยฃ87.7 billion to ยฃ102.7 billion, more than double the 2020 Phase 1 estimate, with services from Old Oak Common expected between 2036 and 2039 against a 2012 plan to complete the full network by 2033.
100 % overrun (more than, excluding inflation), cost increase over the 2020 phase 1 estimate, low end of the may 2026 range, 2026-05. 2033 year, year dft expected the full london, manchester and leeds network to be complete at the 2012 approval, 2012. National Audit Office (UK), High Speed Two reset, HC 52, Session 2026-27, 29 June 2026, retrieved 2026-10-01.
The move, and what it needed
The Department for Transport approved a national high-speed line, set up an arm's-length company to build it, and committed to construction contracts in 2020 before designs and costs were stable. It then responded to the cost growth by cutting the northern phases instead of the scope of Phase 1.
Preconditions
A sponsoring department able to commit tens of billions over decades without a firm cost baseline
Construction contracts let before a reliable total cost estimate existed, which HS2 Ltd began renegotiating in 2025 to better incentivise cost-effective delivery
Repeated political resets in 2020, 2023 and 2025 that changed scope faster than the client organisation could re-estimate
Where else it has been used: The NAO's 2026 report records the government's 2025 changes to how it manages mega-projects and a separate Euston delivery company set up in April 2026, both framed as lessons from HS2.
Limits: No HS2 train has run. This is a record of a build in progress, not a delivered railway, and the erosion is to planned scope: the Manchester and Leeds legs were cancelled before they were built, so nothing in service was lost. The May 2026 estimate is in a mixed price base and the NAO says it carries a high level of uncertainty until a baseline is set in spring 2027. The over 100% figure compares a London to Birmingham estimate with the 2020 Phase 1 estimate, which excluded inflation and was itself a rebaseline after the 2019 Oakervee review, so the overrun against the 2012 approval is larger and is not stated as one number by the NAO. The 2033 completion year is for a network that no longer exists, so it is a schedule reference, not a like-for-like comparison. Both figures are read from PDFs, with text-extraction spacing artefacts cleaned in the quotes. Spend to March 2026 was ยฃ46.8 billion in nominal prices, including the cancelled Phase 2.
The Department for Transport and Transport for London built Crossrail through Crossrail Ltd from 2009. The NAO put its forecast cost at 28% above the 2010 budget of ยฃ14.8 billion and its opening at up to three and a half years past the original December 2018 date. The central section opened in 2022 and carried 257.4 million journeys between April 2025 and March 2026.
The Department for Transport and Transport for London set up a dedicated delivery company, Crossrail Ltd, with private delivery partners, and when it missed its 2018 opening they replaced its leadership, added ยฃ825 million and more, and handed the finished asset to Transport for London to operate.
Preconditions
Joint sponsorship by a national department and a city transport authority with its own revenue base
Dedicated local funding streams, including a business rate supplement, alongside central grant
An operator ready to take over and run the line once commissioned
Limits: The 28% is the NAO's May 2021 forecast, made before the line opened; this record has not verified the final outturn cost from an audit source, and the NAO itself notes that later funding packages kept moving. The schedule figure is also a 2021 forecast of 'at least 3 years' late; the opening in 2022 is confirmed only by the regulator's statement that the central section opened that year. The cost is nominal, so part of the 28% is inflation over a decade. Crossrail is a London line co-sponsored and part funded by Transport for London and the Greater London Authority, including a business rate supplement, so it is not purely a national delivery, and its success in carrying passengers says nothing about the governance failures the NAO documented in 2018 to 2019. The journey count is a regulator's estimate from ticketing data.
The UK Government Digital Service ran GOV.UK Verify as the cross-government online identity service from 2016, accumulating almost 10 million user accounts across up to 27 online services, then wound it down after a late 2018 decision, with closure confirmed for April 2023 and every account deleted.
The Government Digital Service built identity assurance as a federation of private identity providers that citizens chose between, with departments paying per verification, and made it the default sign-in for central services. When take-up and success rates stayed far below the business case and departments kept their own routes, the Cabinet Office decided in 2018 to stop funding it and later replaced it with a government-run sign-on.
Preconditions
Private identity providers willing to verify citizens against credit and document data at a price departments would pay
Departments obliged to adopt one sign-in, which Verify never secured: several services kept alternative digital routes
Citizen records that private providers could check remotely, which failed for about half of attempts: the success rate stood at 48% in February 2019
Limits: The account figure is cumulative and self-reported by the Cabinet Office in a document written to justify funding the service until it closed; it does not count active users or how many people tried and failed to verify. The National Audit Office found in 2019 that 3.6 million people had signed up by February 2019 against a 25 million target for 2020, and a 48% verification success rate against a projected 90%. The closure ended one build, not the function: the government moved services to One Login, so the case shows a national identity platform abandoned for a successor, not a country left without one. Post Office and Digidentity, the remaining identity providers, deleted the accounts and keep some records for up to seven years.